What colour to paint…Christmas shoes.

I’ve finally finished the last triangle of Toblerone so I now have time to reflect on some of the gifts bestowed upon me over Christmas.

I’m a firm believer that shoes MUST fit well and be comfortable so as not to encourage broken ankles or prevent you from running at maximum speed should you find your self in a situation where a swift exit is paramount (being chased by a bear for example). A pair of shoes, therefore, is a difficult present to get right so I was rather surprised to receive not one, but three pairs over the holiday season.

Who would possibly take on such a responsibility?

I certainly wouldn’t. I know a corrective shoe or a pair of crocs would be comfortable and practical but they grossly lack the kind of design I would want to give someone – conversely the ones that look amazing often have the potential to ruin your feet. I was quite pleased my sister braved the task first.

Taking on the challenge of replacing my beloved retro Nikes (this love goes deep – I bought two pairs so I had a back up should anything happen to the other pair but eventually I wore both pairs out, that didn’t stop me wearing them though). Despite the holes and marks, I wasn’t ready to let go. I was shocked and ashamed when I opened the boxed and felt ready to let the others go and have a party in the wheelie bin. The box fresh pair in deep forest green with an underlying blue stole my heart. The Nike tick in the ever so on trend hint of mint with a flash of bright yellow neon on the tongue and heel. Well done Chloe.

Nike trainers

Not sure how I’ve never owned a pair of Vans given they are a staple in a large proportion of my friend’s wardrobes but I haven’t. My friend Robin decided it was about time I did (mainly to smarten me up I’ve been told by a third party) so he went on a mission to find ones I couldn’t help but want to wear. He must know me well because I now have limited edition paint splatter Liberty Vans. Again, colours are particularly on trend –  bright positive pastels reflecting the optimism of the changing economy with a touch of black to ground them. The pattern is also bang up to date – mirroring many of the painterly fabrics I saw during Paris design week this January. Gold Star Robin.

Van's liberty print

Finally, a pair to make my Mum happy after she had sighed and exclaimed ‘Not more trainers!’ on Christmas morning. Brogues. Smart shoes I could wear to work. Boring? I hear you cry. Actually no…. they have a bright blue rubber sole that makes me smile every time I attempt to be a little smarter. They are not the black I first thought. They are a deep chalky navy. Even better.

Bold blue beautiful brogues.

Bold blue beautiful brogues.

 

I can categorically say shoes make everything better so if you weren’t as lucky as me you should definitely go and treat yourself!

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration

Leave a comment